Which is envisaged by the law on the language

We decided to remind you that the Law of Ukraine “On ensuring the functioning of Ukrainian as a state language” will come into force on 16.07.2019, which establishes Ukrainian as the only state language being compulsory for public authorities and public spheres throughout the country.
This law introduces a number of innovations regarding the use of the state language, it establishes the obligation to speak the language at a certain level, and a classification of levels of proficiency is introduced, the requirements are also set out for using the Ukrainian language by state bodies and in various spheres of public life.

I wonder, the law outlines the exceptions to the requirements for the use of the Ukrainian language. So, in some areas, the use of English and other official languages ​​of the European Union at the level of the state is explicitly foreseen by law, while the use of the Russian language is possible only as a language of national minorities and is regulated by the Law of Ukraine “On National Minorities in Ukraine”.

The law also foresees the implementation of administrative liability for violation of the established law requirements with fine sanctions in the form of a fine (maximum amount for repeated violation – up to seven hundred non-taxable minimum incomes of citizens).

The article on liability to prosecution for humiliation and contempt in relation to Ukrainian language, which was in the bill, is missing in the published text of the law.

– Volodymir Tabachinsky, the lawyer of “Dynasty” Law Firm.

Publications 18 July, 2019

Write a comment

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

13 − two =

Что предусматривает закон про «язык»

Мы решили Вам напомнить, что с 16.07.2019 года вступает в силу Закон Украины «Об обеспечении функционирования украинского языка как государственного», который закрепляет за украинским статус единственного государственного языка, который является обязательным для органов государственной власти и общественных сфер на всей территории страны.

Этим законом вводится ряд новаций, относительно применения государственного языка — установлена ​​обязанность владеть языком на определенном уровне и введено классификацию уровней владения языком, также установлены требования для использования украинского языка государственными органами и в различных сферах общественной жизни.

Интересно в законе указанные исключения из требований по применению украинского языка, так, законом, в некоторых сферах, прямо предусмотрено применение английского языка и других официальных языков Европейского Союза наравне с государственным, при этом применение русского языка возможно только как языки национальных меньшинств и регулируется Законом Украины «О национальных меньшинствах в Украине».

Также закон предусматривает введение административной ответственности за нарушение установленных законом требований со штрафными санкциями в виде штрафа (максимальный размер за повторное нарушение — до семисот необлагаемых минимумов доходов граждан).

Статья об уголовной ответственности за унижение и пренебрежение украинского языка, который был в законопроекте, отсутствует в опубликованном тексте закона.

— Владимир Табачинский, юрист Dynasty Law Firm.

Публикации 18 июля, 2019

Написать комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

один × 1 =