COVID-19 is a virus that kills business as well…

There arose an emergency now related to the nascency of the COVID-19 pandemic in the world and an epidemic in Ukraine.  The situation is extremely unpleasant even speaking in economic terms, as many businesses had to close up, or reduce production to a minimum.

The issue of protecting business is becoming urgent now, because the spread of the virus, the introduction of quarantine, declaring a state of emergency throughout Ukraine can cause malfunctions and interruptions in the operation of enterprises, and as a result, the parties’ inability to fulfill the terms of the contracts, intentional / unintentional avoidance of obligations.  Thence, let’s consider the issue of force majeure in such a troubled period.

According to part 2 of Article 141 of Law No. 671/97- Verkhovna Rada “On Chambers of Commerce and Industry in Ukraine”, force majeure (force majeure circumstances) are extraordinary and inevitable circumstances that objectively make it impossible to fulfill obligations stipulated by the terms of the contract (contract, agreement and  etc.), obligations under legislative and other regulatory acts.

On March 17, 2020, Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted Law No. 3219 “On Amending Certain Legislative Acts of Ukraine aimed at Preventing the Occurrence and Spread of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)”.  Among other things, the document regulates the inclusion of “quarantine” in the list of force majeure circumstances provided for in Section 141 of Law No. 671/97-VR.

Thus, the legal fact of introducing quarantine now refers to force majeure circumstances, which cannot but rejoice conscientious entrepreneurs, who have become hostages of the situation.

However, at the same time, it is important to understand that the very fact of introducing quarantine on the territory of a country doesn’t mean an automatic release of business entities from fulfilling their obligations.  For the purpose to exercise this right, an entity shall carefully read the terms of its contract and understand how it should act: 1) notify the other party 2) contact the Chamber of Commerce and Industry or its regional representative office to obtain the appropriate certificate.

In addition, with respect to the tricky situation that most entrepreneurs in Ukraine faced with quarantine, the Ukrainian CCI announced the possibility of submitting an e-mail application with a minimum package of documents (copy of the contract; copy of the order (s) due to the need to terminate activity based on relevant regulatory legal acts; notifications by the other party).

With regard for each individual case, the CCI will determine whether the quarantine established by the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine is an extraordinary and inevitable circumstance that objectively makes it impossible to fulfill obligations under a particular agreement.

If the quarantine has made the delivery of goods, the performance of work or the provision of services unprofitable in terms of time, material costs, organizational efforts and the like, this is not yet called “the objective impossibility of fulfilling obligations”.

It should be remembered that for the purpose to recognize quarantine a force majeure circumstance, there shall be a direct cause-and-effect relationship between quarantine and the inability to fulfill obligations.  That is, the party to the contract shall not have an alternative option for fulfilling the obligation.

Thus, having received the CCI Certificate to deal with force majeure, the business entity is exempted from civil and economic liability for failure to comply with the terms of the contract.

I draw your attention to the fact that it is important to become convinced that the text of the agreement does not provide for a special procedure for notifying the counterparty and / or confirming the occurrence of force majeure circumstances, or responsibility for not notifying the counterparty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Publications 7 April, 2020

Write a comment

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

20 − 1 =

COVID-19 это и вирус, убивающий бизнес…

Сейчас в мире сложилась чрезвычайная ситуация, связанная с возникновением пандемии COVID-19 в мире и эпидемии в Украине. Ситуация крайне неприятная даже в экономическом плане, поскольку многим бизнесам пришлось закрыться, или сократить производство до минимума.

Актуальным сейчас становится вопрос защиты бизнеса, ведь распространение вируса, введение карантина, объявления чрезвычайного положения на всей территории Украины может стать причиной сбоев и остановок в работе предприятий, и как следствие невозможность сторонами исполнить условия договоров, умышленное/неумышленное уклонение от исполнения обязательств. Так что рассмотрим вопрос форс-мажора в условиях такого сложного времени.

Согласно части 2 статьи 141 Закона № 671/97-ВР «О торгово-промышленных палатах в Украине», форс-мажором (обстоятельствами непреодолимой силы) являются чрезвычайные и неотвратимые обстоятельства, объективно делающие невозможным выполнение обязательств, предусмотренных условиями договора (контракта, соглашения и т.п.), обязанностей по законодательным и другим нормативным актам.

17 марта 2020 года Верховная Рада Украины приняла Закон № 3219 «О внесении изменений в некоторые законодательные акты Украины, направленных на предотвращение возникновения и распространения коронавирусной болезни (COVID-19)». Кроме прочего документ регламентирует внесение «карантина» в перечень форс-мажорных обстоятельств, предусмотренных статьей 141 Закона № 671/97-ВР.

Таким образом, юридический факт введения карантина теперь относится к форс-мажорным обстоятельствам, что не может не радовать добросовестных предпринимателей, которые стали заложниками ситуации.

Однако вместе с тем важно понимать, что сам факт введения карантина на территории страны не является автоматическим освобождением субъектов хозяйственной деятельности от выполнения ранее взятых на себя обязательств. Для того чтобы воспользоваться этим правом, субъект должен внимательно прочитать условия своего договора и понять, как ему следует действовать: 1) уведомить вторую сторону 2) обратиться в Торгово-промышленную палату или ее региональное представительство для получения соответствующего сертификата.

Кроме того, учитывая сложную ситуацию, в которой оказались большинство предпринимателей на территории Украины в связи карантином, ТПП Украины заявила о возможности подачи по электронной почте соответствующего заявления с минимальным пакетом документов (копия договора; копия приказа (распоряжения) в связи с необходимостью прекращения деятельности на основании соответствующих нормативно-правовых актов; извещения другой стороны).

В каждом отдельном случае ТПП будет определять, является ли карантин, установленный Кабинетом Министров Украины, чрезвычайным и неотвратимым обстоятельством, которое объективно делает невозможным выполнение обязательств по конкретно взятому договору.

В случае, если карантин сделал невыгодным поставку товаров, выполнение работ или оказание услуг с точки зрения времени, материальных затрат, организационных усилий и тому подобное этого еще не «объективная невозможность исполнения обязательств».

Следует помнить, для признания карантина форс-мажорным обстоятельством, должна быть прямая причинно-следственная связь между карантином и невозможностью выполнения обязательств. То есть у стороны договора не должно быть альтернативного варианта исполнения обязательства.

Таким образом, получив Сертификат ТПП о форс-мажорных обстоятельствах, субъект хозяйственной деятельности освобождается от гражданской и хозяйственно-правовой ответственности за невыполнение условий договора.

Обращаю Ваше внимание, что важно убедиться, что текстом договора не предусмотрен специальный порядок уведомления контрагента и/или подтверждения факта наступления форс-мажорных обстоятельств, или ответственность за не уведомления контрагента

Публикации 7 апреля, 2020

Написать комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

восемнадцать − 2 =