Informal relationship

The analysis of business transactions, in which the counterparty is defined as risky one, shall be made by the fiscal authorities not formally, but transactions of the kind shall be assessed individually.

Freedom of entrepreneurial business is declared and guaranteed in Ukraine.  This freedom includes both the right of a citizen to engage in any unprohibited types of economic activity, and the right to choose at ones discretion the form of implementation of this activity, as well as trading partners.

Everything is admirably clear as regards the first two paragraphs of this definition. As one of the judges of the Supreme Court of Ukraine once said: “There exist no forbidden types of economic activities, whereas there are permitted activities. Certain actions can only be prohibited – the types of any activities that have the characteristics of business”. With regard to forms of economic activity implementing, all seems so easy – they are clearly regulated by law.

Prudence is required

As regards the third point – the choice of trading partners, everything here is much more complicated than it seems at first glance.

To a certain extent, the tax authorities, having secured the backing of the judicial system, establish prudential requirements when choosing counterparties, that is to say, trading partners.

If during the risk assessment, the automated tax service control systems determine your trading partner as a risky one, no matter how much do you refer to the principle of tax payer’s individual responsibility, the service will draw conclusions that will be profitable only for itself, and this will almost always result for you in additional liabilities.

In my viewpoint, the arguments of the tax authorities remain particularly remarkable, namely if the officers of any of your trading partners are involved in a sentence of a criminal case, according to which these persons are found guilty of committing a crime under article 205 of the Criminal code (CC) of Ukraine (fictitious entrepreneurship), this fact gives reason to automatically recognize all your transactions, which were conducted with this trading partner, as “unreal”, that is to say, those that were performed exclusively on paper, without actual movement of goods or services.

This conclusion in its turn allows the tax authorities to credit additionally monetary liabilities under the profit tax of the enterprises, manifesting unfounded adjustment of the financial result subject to taxation on the amount of such “unreal” transactions, and credit additionally value added tax, if transactions were subject to VAT and amounts of these transactions participated in the generating of tax credit on VAT.

That fact sounds interesting – seeing that EGRR often arrives at a verdict against the officials of the contractor of the entity being audited, the tax inspector doesn’t even check actual movement of goods and funds on the above-said transactions, and just makes the extract from this sentence in the tax audit report and conclusion – all economic transactions with the same trading partner sound fictitious.

Judicial practice

Having received such a tax audit act, and later a tax notice-decision for a significant amount, sometimes also with penalties, a prudent businessman seeks protection in the law court, since an administrative appeal of such decisions almost never ends effectively.

However, filing a lawsuit with the court, even if all the necessary primary documentation, detailed explanations and a description of the movement of goods, services and cash charts are provided, does not always lead to the entrepreneur receiving a positive court decision.

The point being, as always, in judicial practice, which is currently being shaped by the Supreme Court, and is active, and nearly always can be said, used by the courts of the first and appeal instances as a justification for a certain viewpoint, sometimes not always objective one.

At the moment there are completely opposite viewpoints of Supreme Court judges regarding the necessity of a full and comprehensive investigation of proofs of the implementation to a business transaction with the counterparty to be real, in respect of officers who are involved in a sentence in a criminal case under article 205 of the criminal code of Ukraine.

The first viewpoint is that the fact of a verdict existing in criminal proceedings against officials of a counterparty enterprise is not an automatic basis for considering all transactions conducted with such a counterparty to be “unrealistic”, that is to say, fictitious one.   The judges talk about the need to check all the components of a business transaction in this case, and check each installed tax violation and the impact of this violation on the consequences of specific business transactions. In this case, evidence obtained within the scope of criminal proceedings, shall be taken into account by the administrative courts, but only in conjunction with other evidence collected with regard for the case, and shall not be regarded as prevalent force for the court.

Another viewpoint, that some judges of the Supreme Court adhere to, is that in case there exists a verdict that  establishes – a person has been found guilty of an offense under Article 205 of the Criminal Code of Ukraine, namely – creation or acquisition of an enterprise with a view to conceal illegal activities, all transactions  conducted with this enterprise sound “unrealistic” and all the primary documentation signed by persons, in respect of which there exists a court verdict, also sounds not a proper confirmation of the existence of a business transaction.

It turns out that the success of the claim in cases of the kind often depends on the above-said viewpoints closer to the judge hearing your case.

Lawyers of the tax service will always refer only to the judicial practice of the “second viewpoint”.  And it doesn’t matter whether in such a sentence the investigation of business transactions with your company or your client’s company was made, what exactly is the qualification of a criminal offense under article 205 of the Criminal Code of Ukraine, the viewpoint on the unreality of business transactions is unchanged. It’ll be unchanged even if other transactions, for example, the ones involving transportation of goods that your company “allegedly did not purchase from a fictitious trading partner”, will be recognized by the same inspectors as real.

A formal approach

It shall also be borne in mind, that the crime provided by part 1 of article 205 of the Criminal Code of Ukraine, sounds a crime with a formal composition. It is completed from the moment of creation or acquisition of an economic entity subject to the existence of a specific intent. For sentencing by this competency it is enough to prove the existence of intent at the time of creation/acquisition of an enterprise.     And when you consider that most of verdicts of guilty under article 205 of the Criminal Code are based on confessions of guilt, and punishment is just fine for a small amount, there exist risks of imposition of sentence without a full investigation of specified unlawful activity, and sometimes no investigation is made at all. The question arises, what the facts and established circumstances, then, will the tax authorities refer to during inspections, using similar sentences.

However, practice suggests that the persons against whom sentences are imposed under article 205 of the  Criminal Code of Ukraine, can enter into legitimate transactions with enterprises of the real sector of the economy and lead a completely legal activity in parallel with carrying out illegal activities, with the aim of putting legitimate activities into semblance.

In this case, the formal approach of the tax service and the judicial system to the analysis of such business transactions deprives prudent tax payers of all civil remedies, it remains only to constantly monitor the status of their counterparties and demand more and more proof of their good faith.  As practice shows, although, these means do not give absolute guarantees.

In its turn, such an approach sounds a violation of the principles of legal certainty and good governance, which was repeatedly mentioned in the decisions of the European court of human rights. After all, state agencies are charged with the obligation of establishing the proper legal procedures by which taxpayers will be able not only to foresee the negative consequences before taking certain actions in the sphere of economic activities, but they are not required to bear an excessive tax burden due to improper establishing such legal procedures by the state.

Oleg ZHERYOBKIN – the lawyer of Dynasty Law Firm

Publications 22 August, 2019

Write a comment

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

6 + 1 =

Неформальные отношения

К анализу хозяйственных операций, в которых контрагент определен как рисковый, фискальным органам следует подходить не формально, а оценивать такие операции индивидуально

В Украине декларируется и гарантируется свобода предпринимательской деятельности. Эта свобода включает в себя как право гражданина заниматься любыми незапрещенными видами хозяйственной деятельности, так и право выбирать по своему усмотрению форму осуществления этой деятельности, а также торговых партнеров.

С первыми двумя пунктами этого определения все предельно ясно. Как говорил однажды судья Верховного Суда Украины: «Запрещенных видов хозяйственной деятельности вообще не существует, поскольку она является деятельностью разрешенной. Запрещенными могут быть лишь определенные действия – виды любой деятельности, имеющие признаки предпринимательской». Что касается форм осуществления хозяйственной деятельности все тоже просто – они четко регламентированы законом.

Требуют предусмотрительности

Что касается третьего пункта – выбора торговых партнеров, то здесь всё оказывается намного сложнее чем кажется на первый взгляд.

Налоговые органы, в определенной степени заручившись поддержкой судебной системы, устанавливают требования к предусмотрительности при выборе контрагентов, то есть торговых партнеров.

Если в ходе оценки рисков автоматизированные системы контроля налоговой службы определят вашего торгового партнера как рискового, сколько не ссылайся потом на принцип индивидуальной ответственности плательщика налогов, служба сделает выводы, которые будут выгодны только ей, а для вас это почти всегда выльется в доначисление денежных обязательств.

На мой взгляд, особо примечательными остаются доводы налоговой службы о том, что если в отношении должностных лиц кого-либо из ваших торговых партнеров существует приговор по уголовному делу, которым эти лица признаются виновными в совершении преступления предусмотренного статьей 205 Уголовного кодекса (УК) Украины (фиктивное предпринимательство), то этот факт дает автоматический повод признавать все ваши сделки, которые были проведены с этим торговым партнером, «нереальными», то есть таковыми, что были проведены исключительно на бумаге без реального движения товаров или услуг.

Этот вывод в свою очередь позволяет налоговым органам доначислять денежные обязательства по налогу на прибыль предприятий, говоря о безосновательной корректировке финансового результата подлежащего налогообложению на суммы таких «нереальных» сделок, и так же доначислять налог на добавленную стоимость, если операции подлежали налогообложению НДС и суммы по этим операциям принимали участие в формировании налогового кредита по НДС.

Интересным остается тот факт, что зачастую, видя в ЕГРСР такой приговор в отношении должностных лиц контрагента проверяемого лица, налоговый инспектор даже не проверяет фактическое движение товаров и средств по упомянутым сделкам, а просто делает выдержку из этого приговора в акте налоговой проверки и вывод – все хозяйственные операции с таким торговым партнером являются фиктивными.

Судебная практика

Получая такой акт проверки, а позже и налоговое уведомление-решение на значительную сумму, иногда еще и со штрафными санкциями, добросовестный предприниматель ищет защиты в суде, поскольку административное обжалование подобного рода решений практически никогда не заканчивается результативно.

Обращение же с иском в суд, даже при условии предоставления всей необходимой первичной документации, подробных пояснений и описания схем движения товаров, услуг и денежных средств, не всегда приводит к тому, что предприниматель получает положительное решение суда.

Дело как всегда в судебной практике, которая формируется на данный момент Верховным Судом, и активно, а можно сказать практически всегда, используется судами первой и апелляционной инстанций как обоснование определенной точки зрения, порой не всегда объективной.

На данный момент существуют совершенно противоположные позиции судей Верховного Суда по вопросу необходимости полного и всестороннего исследования доказательств реальности осуществления определенной хозяйственной операции с контрагентом, в отношении должностных лиц которого существует приговор в уголовном деле по статье 205 УК Украины.

Первая позиция заключается в том, что факт наличия приговора в уголовном производстве в отношении должностных лиц предприятия-контрагента, не является автоматическим основанием для того, чтобы считать все сделки, проведенные с таким контрагентом –«нереальными», то есть фиктивными. Судьи говорят о необходимости в таком случае осуществлять проверку всех составляющих хозяйственной операции, проверять каждое установленное налоговое нарушение и влияние этого нарушения на последствия конкретной хозяйственной операции. В тэтом случае, доказательства, полученные в рамках уголовного производства, должны быть учтены административными судами, но лишь в совокупности с другими доказательствами, собранными по делу, и не должны иметь для суда предустановленной силы.

Другая позиция, которой придерживается часть судей Верховного Суда, заключается в том, что в случае существования приговора, которым установлено, что лицо признано виновным в совершении преступления предусмотренного статьей 205 УК Украины, а именно создании или приобретении предприятия с целью сокрытия незаконной деятельности, все сделки осуществленные с этим предприятием являются «нереальными» и вся первичная документация, подписанная лицами в отношении которых есть приговор суда, так же не является надлежащим подтверждением существования хозяйственной операции.

Вот и получается, что успех иска по подобного рода делам зачастую зависит от того, какая именно из вышеупомянутых точек зрения ближе судье, рассматривающему ваше дело.

Юристы налоговой службы всегда будут ссылаться лишь на судебную практику «второй точки зрения». И не важно, исследовалось ли в таком приговоре осуществление хозяйственных операций именно с вашим предприятием, или предприятием вашего клиента, какая именно квалификация уголовного правонарушения по статье 205 УК Украины, позиция о нереальности хозяйственных операций будет неизменна, даже если другие операции, например, операции по перевозке товара, который ваше предприятие «якобы не приобретало у фиктивного торгового партнера» этими же проверяющими будут признаваться реальными.

Формальный подход

Стоит так же учитывать, что преступление, предусмотренное частью 1 статьи 205 УК Украины, является преступлением с формальным составом. Оно является завершенным с момента создания или приобретения субъекта хозяйственной деятельности при наличии определенного умысла. Для вынесения приговора по данной квалификации достаточно лишь доказать факт существования умысла в момент создания/приобретения предприятия. А если учесть, что большинство обвинительных приговором по статье 205 УК выносятся на основании соглашений о признании вины и наказанием является всего лишь штраф на незначительную сумму, существуют риски вынесения приговора без полного исследования указанной незаконной деятельности, а порой и без исследования вовсе. Остается вопрос, на какие факты и установленные обстоятельства тогда будут ссылаться налоговые органы при проведении проверок с использованием подобных приговоров.

Однако, практика говорит о том, что лица, в отношении которых выносятся приговоры по статье 205 УК Украины, могут параллельно с осуществлением незаконной деятельности, с целью создания видимости законной деятельности, заключать вполне правомерные сделки с предприятиями реального сектора экономики и вести вполне легальную деятельность.

В этом случае, формальный подход налоговой службы и судебной системы к анализу подобного рода хозяйственных операций лишает добросовестных плательщиков налогов всех средств защиты, остается только постоянно следить за состоянием своих контрагентов и требовать от них все больше и больше доказательств своей добросовестности. Хотя, как позывает практика, и это не дает абсолютных гарантий.

В свою очередь, такой подход является нарушением принципов правовой определенности и надлежащего управления, о которых неоднократно упоминал в своих решениях Европейский суд по правам человека. Ведь именно на государственные органы возложено обязательство установления должных правовых процедур, с помощью которых плательщики налогов смогут не только заранее предвидеть негативные последствия перед осуществлением тех или иных действий в сфере хозяйственной деятельности, но и не обязаны нести чрезмерную налоговую нагрузку вследствие ненадлежащего установления государством таких правовых процедур.

ЖЕРЕБКИН Олег – адвокат Dynasty Law Firm

Публикации 22 августа, 2019

Написать комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

двенадцать − 3 =