V All-Ukrainian Conference on Criminal Law and Process

Constant updating of knowledge, tracking innovations in law and law practice, in criminal law and process are the key to professionalism for lawyers, for their effective strategic legal protection of clients, and their willingness to support their clients at every stage of the criminal process.

On 08-09.11.2018, lawyers Irina Gulaya and Vasina Daria took part in the V All-Ukrainian Conference on Criminal Law and Process, which was held at the Radisson Blue Hotel.  This conference is a unique event that serves as a platform for discussing and solving problems in the field of criminal law and process, discussing the practical application of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, and decisions of the ECHR in national criminal proceedings;  on the newly established jurisprudence of the Supreme Court and the Grand Chamber of the Supreme Court in criminal proceedings.  At this conference, the positive and growing trend of acquitting sentences in Ukraine was not set aside.

It should be noted that the lawyers attendees had a real opportunity to raise the most urgent issues that have been developed in modern judicial practice in hearing criminal cases. Judges of the Supreme court, who took part in the panel discussion, noted that unstable legislation and the low quality of regulations became an acute problem to deal with formation of new judicial practices. It was also noted that currently there a very large personnel problem arose, namely the lack of the required number of investigative judges, which encourages the violation of norms of procedural law by courts, including terms of consideration of various applications, petitions, particularly petitions on application of pre-trial restrictions.

In addition, the issues of protection of rights and professional guarantees of lawyers sparked the interest of the audience. Special attention has been paid to gross violations of the rights of lawyers, the ways of suppression in high-profile matters and countering, which, unfortunately, are becoming routine in our constitutional democracy state.

The discussions also touched upon the draft law developed by the Council on Judicial Reform and submitted by the President of Ukraine to the Parliament, under which the most pressing issues of the advocacy, which undergoes a systemic crisis, were raised.  The crisis, in particular, is caused by the inanimation of the lawyer community, the low level of public understanding of the role of a lawyer in the process, and the constant desire to identify a lawyer with his client.  The relationship between a lawyer and law enforcement agencies, which often do not have respect for the professional duties of a lawyer, also poses a problem.

The situation that has been created in human rights activities often deprives a lawyer of legal influence on the situation, and as a result – the latter falls under the roller of the repressive machine of the state and corrupted institutions.

Thus, lawyers should consolidate, protect one another and the rights of everyone by all possible legal means, and reporting to authoritative media is often the only possible lever in an unequal struggle going on between the state through its bodies and a lawyer.

Events 9 November, 2018
See also

Write a comment

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

4 × 1 =

V Всеукраинская конференция по уголовному праву и процессу

Постоянное обновление знаний, отслеживание новелл в законодательстве и адвокатской практике, в уголовном праве и процессе — ключ профессионализма для адвокатов, для их эффективной стратегической правовой защиты клиентов, готовности поддерживать своего клиента на каждом этапе уголовного процесса.

08-09.11.2018 адвокаты Гулая Ирина и Васина Дарья приняли участие в V Всеукраинской конференции по уголовному праву и процессу, которая прошла в Radisson Blu Hotel. Эта конференция является уникальным мероприятием, которое служит платформой для обсуждения и решения проблем в сфере уголовного права и процесса, обсуждения практического применения Конвенции о защите прав человека и основных свобод, решений ЕСПЧ в национальном уголовном производстве; по новосозданной судебной практике Верховного суда и Большой Палаты Верховного суда по уголовным производствам. На данной конференции не была оставлена без внимания и положительно растущая тенденция оправдательных приговоров в Украине.

Следует отметить, что присутствующие юристы имели реальную возможность поставить наиболее актуальные вопросы, которые сложились в современной судебной практике по рассмотрению уголовных дел. Судьи Верховного суда, которые принимали участие в панельной дискуссии отметили, что острой проблемой при формировании новой судебной практики стало нестабильное законодательство и низкое качество нормативных актов. Также отметили, что в настоящее время существует очень большая кадровая проблема, а именно отсутствие необходимого количества следственных судей, что побуждает на нарушение судами норм процессуального права, в том числе сроков рассмотрения различных заявлений, ходатайств, в частности, ходатайств о применении меры пресечения.

Кроме того, особый интерес аудитории вызвали вопросы защиты прав и профессиональных гарантий адвокатов. Особое внимание уделено грубым нарушениям прав адвокатов, способам давления в резонансных делах и противодействиях, которые, к сожалению, приобретают повседневный характер в нашем демократическом правовом государстве.

Обсуждения также коснулись законопроекта, разработанного Советом по судебной реформе и поданного Президентом Украины в Парламент, в рамках которого поднимались наиболее актуальные вопросы адвокатуры, которая находится в системном кризисе. Кризис, в частности, обусловлен пассивностью адвокатского сообщества, низким уровнем общественного понимания роли адвоката в процессе и постоянным стремлением отождествить адвоката с его клиентом. Также проблема и во взаимоотношениях между адвокатом и правоохранительными органами, которые часто не имеют уважения к профессиональным обязанностям адвоката.

Ситуация, которая сейчас сложилась в правозащитной деятельности нередко лишает адвоката возможности законного влияния на ситуацию, и как следствие — попадания последнего под каток репрессивной машины государства и коррумпированных его органов.

Таким образом, адвокаты должны консолидироваться, защищать друг друга и права каждого всеми возможными законными способами, а сообщение авторитетным СМИ часто является единственным возможным рычагом в неравной борьбе между государством в лице его органов и адвокатом.

События 9 ноября, 2018

Написать комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

четыре × 2 =