Amending the Labor Code of Ukraine

Recently adopted bill No. 1233 dated September 2, 2019 “On Amendments to the Labor Code of Ukraine (on Elimination of norms that violate the rights and legislative interests of employers of Ukraine)” is not falling from grace among many bills that are widely discussed on the network.

http://w1.c1.rada.gov.ua/pls/zweb2/webproc4_1?pf3511=66611.

It is not surprising.  Until recently, the legislator has actively proclaimed that supervision and responsibility of employers would be strengthened.  Moreover, the seriousness of such statements was beyond dispute after the first months that followed countermanding of the moratorium on the measures of public supervision over the observance of labor legislation and submitting the Draft Law on Amendments to the Labor Code of Ukraine to the VRU regarding Strengthening the Protection of Workers’ Rights  employment contract and removal from work. This Draft Law was offered, even, to authorize officials of the State Labor Service to determine independently the existence of employment  relations.  However, it is now proposed to significantly change the trend of the state approach in the sphere of labor relations.

In its essence, Bill No. 1233 deals with the reduction of fines under Art.  265 of the Labor Code, in particular:

– regarding admission of an employee to work without concluding of an employment contract instead of a fine of 30 minimum wages, it is proposed to apply employers’ written warning for committing such a violation for the first time, and for a repeated violation within the year – it is proposed to impose a fine of 4 times the minimum wage.

– regarding failure to comply with the minimum state guarantees in the remuneration and guarantees and benefits to employees, involved in performance of the duties provided for by the laws of Ukraine “On military duty and military service”, “On alternative (non-military) service”, “On mobilization training  and mobilization”, it is proposed to apply a 2 fold minimum wage instead  of a fine of 10 times the minimum wage at the time the violation is detected;

– regarding non-admission to inspection, it is proposed to apply a fine of 8 times the minimum wage instead of 100 times the minimum wage established by law at the time the violation is detected;

– regarding other violations of labor law requirements, employers will be offered a written warning instead of 1 minimum wage fine.  For a repeated offense committed within a year – a fine of 1 minimum wage is proposed.

It sounds really good at the first glance: today the amount of fines really scares entrepreneurs.

However, from a legal point of view, is preventing infringement not precisely the purpose of legal liability?

From this perspective, the bill looks quite populist, whereas for the purpose of “reducing economically unjustified penalties for violating the labor laws of Ukraine and stopping the process of liquidation of small and medium-sized businesses in Ukraine due to destructive penalties used”, it happens something like this: “it sounds expensive to break the law for small and medium-sized businesses, they need to reduce fines.”  Will the sanction for those listed in Art.  265 Code of Labor Laws breaches lose its preventive function as a result of the proposed amendments, and will workers, whose rights it becomes cheaper to breach, fall victim to such amendments?  Perhaps, in this context, it would be better for the legislators to think – how to make sure that representatives of small and medium-sized businesses are not to be forced to break the law at all?

-Elena Dvortsova, attorney at Dynasty Law Firm.

Publications 31 October, 2019

Write a comment

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

sixteen − 13 =

Внесение изменений в Кодекс законов про труд Украины

Среди многих законопроектов, которые широко обсуждаются в сети, популярности не теряет недавно принятый за основу законопроект №1233 от 02.09.2019 года «О внесении изменений в Кодекс законов о труде Украины (относительно устранения норм, нарушающих права и законные интересы работодателей Украины)». http://w1.c1.rada.gov.ua/pls/zweb2/webproc4_1?pf3511=66611.

Это и не удивительно. До недавнего времени законодатель активно декларировал, что контроль и ответственность работодателей будут усиливаться. Причем, серьезность таких заявлений ни у кого не вызывала сомнений уже после первых месяцев отмены моратория на меры государственного контроля за соблюдением законодательства о труде и внесение на рассмотрение ВРУ проекта закона о внесении изменений в Кодекс законов о труде Украины относительно усиления защиты прав работников при заключении трудового договора и отстранения от работы, которым предлагалось даже предоставить полномочия должностным лицам органов Государственной службы по труду самостоятельно (без суда) устанавливать факт наличия трудовых отношений. Впрочем, сейчас предлагается существенно изменить вектор государственного подхода в сфере трудовых отношений.

По сути, законопроект № 1233 касается уменьшения штрафов, предусмотренных ст. 265 Кодекса законов о труде, в частности:

— за допуск работника к работе без оформления трудового договора вместо штрафа в размере 30-ти минимальных заработных плат, предлагается применение письменного предупреждения работодателей за совершение такого нарушения впервые, а за повторное нарушение в течение года — штраф в 4-кратном размере минимальной з/п.

— за несоблюдение минимальных государственных гарантий в оплате труда и гарантий и льгот работникам, привлекаемым к исполнению обязанностей, предусмотренных законами Украины «О воинской обязанности и военной службе», «Об альтернативной (невоенной) службе», «О мобилизационной подготовке и мобилизации »вместо штрафа в 10-кратном размере минимальной з / п на момент выявления нарушения предлагается применение 2-кратного размера минимальной заработной платы;

— за недопуск к проверке предлагается применять штраф вместо 100-кратного в 8-кратном размере минимальной з/п, установленной законом на момент выявления нарушения;

— за другие нарушения требований трудового законодательства к работодателям будут предлагается вместо 1 размера минимальной з/п применять письменное предупреждение. За повторное нарушение совершено в течение года — штраф в размере 1 минимальной з/п.

На первый взгляд, звучит действительно неплохо: размер штрафов на сегодняшний день действительно пугает предпринимателей.

Однако, с юридической точки зрения, разве именно это и не является целью юридической ответственности — предотвратить нарушение?

С такого ракурса законопроект выглядит достаточно популистским, поскольку, по его целью «уменьшения экономически необоснованных штрафных санкций за нарушение норм трудового законодательства Украины и остановки процесса ликвидации малого и среднего бизнеса в Украине в связи с применением сокрушительных по своему размеру штрафных санкций», просматривается что-то вроде: «малому и среднему бизнесу дорого нарушать закон, надо уменьшать штрафы». Не потеряет санкция за перечисленные в ст. 265 Кодекса законов о труде нарушение своей превентивной функции вследствие предложенных изменений и не станут конечными жертвами таких изменений работники, права которых станет дешевле нарушать? Возможно, в данном контексте законодателю лучше было бы подумать, как сделать так, чтобы малый и средний бизнес вообще не был вынужден нарушать закон?

-Елена Дворцова, адвокат Dynasty Law Firm.

Публикации 31 октября, 2019

Написать комментарий

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован

17 + четырнадцать =